Hello The City

Standard

A welcome note from the lovely Rachel ... I love her already

Someone once wrote, “No city invites the heart to come to life as San Francisco does. Arrival in San Francisco is an experience in living“. Well, I couldn’t agree more.

A couple of delicious white wines, amazing in-flight entertainment and 12 hours up in the air, the plane landed at San Francisco International Airport at 10:05hrs today. I had gone without sleep for more than 20 hours and it dawned upon me that I had to live Friday all over! Great.

After going through tight airport security, I hopped on the BART and headed straight for the Civic Centre. Got out, flagged down a cab and spoke my first words… “430, Steiner Street on Page”. Yes. Rachel’s address. The girl I’ve never met in my life and whom I was going to stay with throughout my sabbatical. How exciting!

Rachel’s lovely cousin, Mary, greeted me at the door with a big smile and hug. I love her already. She’s gone to meet some friends now whilst I luxuriate on Rachel’s comfy couch in her beautiful apartment. They’ve even got an allotment at the back of the flat! Perfect summer hangout, I’m thinking.

The thing I look forward to most today? Watching Rachel walk through her front door and giving her a huge hug. It’ll be emotional. And brilliant. Word.

About Theresa Lim

Hello. My name is Theresa. I am a Singaporean living in London. I love baking, dining out, dancing, laughing and travelling. Currently, I am a Digital Strategist at a media agency to pay the rent. In the near future, I will win The Great British Bake-Off, set up my own Bakery and charity organisation. This is my dream and I will live it one day.

Leave a Reply

