A city called Portland

Standard

Jason in his glorious flesh.. in front of me... in Portland!

You know that a trip is going to be amazing when:
1) The flight you’re on is half empty
2) That means you’ve got 3 seats to yourself
3) They dim the lights throughout the entire evening flight
4) You arrive bang on time at the destination

Truesies.

Walking out of the plane towards Baggage Claim, I was so so excited. Excited because I’ve never been to Portland and there was going to be so many friendly faces to see. So when I saw the vision that was Jason White standing at the Arrivals Hall in the glorious flesh, I was ecstatic! Friendly familiar face = safe.

Off we popped in Jason’s new BMW (very sleek) for a little tour around the city at nightfall. Gorgeousness. We drove round and round the 5 bridges that connected both East and West sides. Magical. After that epic encounter, we stopped at Ringside Steakhouse – only THE best steakhouse in the US. I’m just saying….

Anne + a mate dropped by and we had the most amazing bar bites EVER. True story. We had steak bites with horseradish, fish bites with tartare, buffalo wings (I reordered 4 times because it was so yummy), caesar salad, shrimp cocktail and cheese breads. All these deliciousness was washed down with glasses of wine and happy conversations. I was so happy to be dining with the two people I met in Shanghai in Portland.

With a full stomach and a smile on my face, we headed back to Jason’s. What an apartment. OMG. I want to move to Portland and live in a place like his. Huge flatscreen TV, incredible sound system, wikid leather sofa, open-planned kitchen, gorgeous bedroom and a 360 view that overlooks the entire city. This is the dream.

As I closed my eyes last night, I thought about how lucky and wonderful my life truly is. I’m really glad to be on this trip. It’s starting to give me a lot of perspective and clarity – two things I really need before I head back to the life that is Shanghai.

Good night, New World. I love you.

About Theresa Lim

Hello. My name is Theresa. I am a Singaporean living in London. I love baking, dining out, dancing, laughing and travelling. Currently, I am a Digital Strategist at a media agency to pay the rent. In the near future, I will win The Great British Bake-Off, set up my own Bakery and charity organisation. This is my dream and I will live it one day.

Leave a Reply

